MMM Press | Underground home | Preface | Samples | Readings & Events | Teaching materials

Available now at & MMM Press

A finalist for the Central New York Poetry Book Awards (2012), and Selected for the Syracuse University Raymond Carver Reading Series & the Living Writers Course for 2013, and the Living Writers Courses at Muhlenberg College (10/07/2013), and SUNY Oswego!


Author Bio:

Patrick Lawler has four other collections of poetry published: A Drowning Man is Never Tall Enough (University of Georgia Press, 1990), reading a burning book (Basfal Books, 1994), Feeding the Fear of the Earth, the winner of the Many Mountains Moving poetry book competition (2006), and Trade World Center (Ravenna Press, 2012). He won the 2010 Ronald Sukenick/ABR Prize for Innovative Fiction for Rescuers of Skydivers Search Among the Clouds (2012), which also won the 2013 CNY Book Award. Four Way Books published The Meaning of If (2014), and the Bitter Oleander Press published Child Sings in the Womb (2014). He has received a National Endowment of the Arts Fellowship, two grants from the New York State Foundation for the Arts, and an award from the Constance Saltonstall Foundation for the Arts. His poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction have appeared in over 100 journals. In addition, he is the ecopoetry and drama editor of Many Mountains Moving: a literary journal of diverse contemporary voices.

The second printing of the 1st edition of Underground is available now.

first edition ISBN 13: 978-1-886976-27-6

$15.95 f rom SPD or MMM Press

Underground (Notes toward an Autobiography)
by Patrick Lawler, Editor's Special Project Series #1

Untitled Document